Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been many controversial arguments surrounding the increasingly prevalent usage of animal testing, which is believed to facilitate pharmaceutical drugs' safety purposes. While some lean towards the viewpoint that animal experimentation is morally wrong, others support a limited amount of animal examinations for the development of biomedical-related industries. The issue of animal experiments from both sides will be analysed in the essay below before my perspective is provided. On the one hand, in order to investigate the effectiveness of new medical products, laboratory animals must be put into various unethical practices so they could have the same illnesses as humans. However, due to the distinguished characteristics in physiology, genetics, and cell structures between these creatures, sufferings and deaths are caused to the animals, or subject them to tremendous trauma experiences. The tested animals ' physical and mental health being tortured can therefore lead to an imbalance in the food chains which leaves detrimental impacts on the ecosystem. Furthermore, non-animal alternatives can be applied in order to limit the number of tested cases thanks to the computer simulations. As an illustration, research from Scientific American has stated that computational models representing the human heart cells showed higher accuracy than animal models. On the other hand, many also agreed that animal experimentation is an essential evil in the quest to understand diseases and to elaborate new medical procedures for the members of the human race. Animals have repeatedly been used throughout the history of biomedical studies as there are aspects where replacing methods are may not always available. A common example of this practice is the scientific research of toxicology and the hygiene of mankind. The effects which these substances deleteriously left on both examined animals and humans are the same except for the differences in the tolerance level of the two species. In conclusion, I would advocate for a combination of both perspectives. Animal testing can be put into practice in order for scientists to explore the appropriate drugs for a range of conditions, only if they ensure to rigorously follow the animal testing regulations and laws, which always treat the tested individuals with respect and avoid duplicated cases.