Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some countries prefer to build sports complexes with specialised facilities for top athletes, in order to increase the probability of winning various kinds of sports competitions. In my opinion, it is a positive way, in order to be one of the best countries in terms of sports. However, having the same facilities could motivate regular people to do sport more regularly, too. Due to this reason, I concur that everyone should have access to them. First and foremost, I concur that top athletes that make their country well-known need special places because they dedicate their lives to sports, unlike other people. Also, I would like to mention that those sports complexes cost a lot of money. And if the government built more than there are right now, that country's budget will lose millions. The money that they would be able to spend on something better such as improvement of technology, medicine, education and etc. This means that those complexes are not only unnecessary for regular people but also expensive for the government. However, there is a chance that if people had such complexes in their hometown, they would be much more encouraged to do sport, therefore the rate of obese people would be less, too. Also, people would have fewer health issues such as diabetes and so on. To sum up, in my point of view because of its advantages everyone should use those facilities. And in order not to exceed the budget, the countries could use the money for military for those facilities.