Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should beto give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What ,in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

University education plays a pivotal role in upbringing of an individual. One school of thought resonates with the fact that Universities should help students in acquiring practical skills truly required to work in a cutting-edge environment. However, few others feel that it doesn't really matter if education imparted by university becomes useful in real corporate world or not. In my opinion, I personally take stance that in today's time and era, an individual should be equipped with comprehensive knowledge which can act as a pool for oneself and can also be equally useful when ti comes to applying it to the competitive market. The reasons for the same shall be envisaged in the following paragraphs. To begin with, marketplace in the current time is very unpredicatable. It can be said that an individual should possess right knowledge for right thing at a right time. In fact, a person might not know which feather of his/her cap would be highlighted when he/she would start working in a real office space. It would also depend on the nature of the job. So, one cannot really classify them beforehand if the said skill would be utilized years later at workplace or not. Therefore, it's signifcant for an individual to have a fair idea of all hus subjects and he/she should be able to readily use them at the time when required. Furthermore, some skills can be categorized with respect to the need of the course. For example, students graduating in home sciences should majorly be focussing on the ingredients, food quality measures etc. On the flip side, somebody graduating in human resources must have good emotional intelligence. Above all, there can be a broad classification of skills which should have umbrella category and must have basic values involved. To conclude, I feel that all-rounded development should be one's foremost priorirty. But at the same time, it should be University's responsibility to devise programs in a manner that are beneficial for students subject to real- time global needs.