Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last decade, obesity has become a serious health issue that needs our immediate attention. One of the leading causes of obesity is fast food. There is undeniably an increase in junk food accessibility, nowadays, as compared to, in the 90s. In this essay, I will outline why this is a negative development and the drawbacks associated with it. The primary reasons why fast food should not become popular and common, are the health risks associated with it. Fast foods are greasy, oily, and full of antioxidants. They result in high blood cholesterol, and thereby obesity and heart disease. The American Heart Association, published last year, for instance, people who consume junk food, such as burgers, pizza, hotdogs, etc., daily have a three times more chance of getting a heart attack after the age of forty. What is more, there is no doubt that fast food is delicious and irresistible; therefore, making it easily available to the public will put a higher number of people's health at risk. Thus, the lesser the junk food options are around, the lesser the consumption. Another compelling reason to demote having unhealthy food stalls in the vicinity of residential areas, is because it's costlier than homemade food. Greater accessibility to convenience meals is uneconomical from a personal perspective. As big food brands, like McDonald's and KFC are expanding their businesses to all towns and cities worldwide, people are spending more on dine-ins and takeaways. This will result in financial stress if the funds are not budgeted efficiently. Thus, junk meals should be kept only at the recreational centres. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, greater accessibility to junk food is causing harm to humans physically and financially. For these reasons, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages by far.