Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people are gradually taking pills at home instead of checking up with nearby hospitals or doctors. In my opinion, both sides have their advantages and drawbacks. On the one hand, with the technological development of our society, ordinary individuals will prepare some medicines at home, such as fever pills and cough relief. People can solve the problem at home with the proper medicine, which is convenient and efficient, moreover, this can save a lot of time as well as money. This also can prevent the overloads of hospitals, and medical centres can focus on these patients who really need medical assistance. On the other hand, if people do not take pills in a professional way, which possibly do more harm than good to their bodies. For example, overdose can make people addicted to very pills, and too many antibiotics can make patients' bodies become antibiotic-resistance, which will possibly be incurable for some kinds of disease. Besides that, if people take the totally wrong medicine or have false treatment, this may even cause some permanent medical disasters, such as handicaps, and diabetes. To sum up, when people have some illness, both taking pills at home or checking with doctors has its own pros and cons. In my perspective, people have the choice to decide to treat themselves in a more responsible way, as well as efficiency. However, it is also individuals' own duty to protect themselves if a medical treatment needs professional consultancy. Only in such way, can a person cure the disease in a more proper way.