Some think schools should reward students who have the best academic results, while others think it’s more important to reward students who achieve other types of success (such as sports, music, and good behaviour). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world there exists a bitter controversy about who among school students should secure more merits. Some people think that those who provide outstanding performance in the academic field deserve to be renowned, whereas others reckon that academic achievements do not play a prominent part and that success is determined by disparate awards in life. In my opinion, good marks do not necessarily form the bedrock of becoming venerated. Firstly, it can be argued that a splendid academic performance should indeed be rewarded. Typically, high scores require stamina and perseverance which truly reveal that people's efforts do worth special praise. Also, by supporting those who dedicate themselves to education, we provide an incentive for others to follow the example, which, in turn, may lead to higher school or university enrollment and a better overall performance of students, who compete for a superior award. Nonetheless, I personally agree with the supporters of seeking achievements in every aspect of mundane life, bar the academic sphere. Not everyone is cut out for working in think tanks, some just have other life purposes. For instance, sports also demand discipline and tenacity, for which students may be rewarded as well. Moreover, everyone needs to be praised at some point, otherwise, any motivation might evaporate, which is why, even if a person is not spoken highly of in academic terms, it is of utmost importance to find something which they are good at and use this as a stimulus for pursuing their aims and goals. In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that awesome scores and marks at school or university presuppose a corresponding treatment. However, and I adhere to this point of view, the excellent results of others should not be neglected, let alone be equally rewarded.