Some people say that in all levels of education from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not in learning practical skills, upto what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, it has been vastly observed that theoretical knowledge is emphasized more than vocational training at all educational levels. This essay will discuss my complete agreement extensively in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence, the preponderant reason is the count of theoretical subjects in comparison to practical subjects. To expound, schools teach numerous subjects which are usually theory -based to students and no practical subjects, resulting which, students focusing on cramming the theories and not gaining any practical applicability. For instance, in India, till high school, students are taught the main facts of all the subject areas, and during the secondary level, there is hardly any inclusion of 1 or 2 practical subjects which are extraneous in nature for them. Hence, the aforementioned reasons elucidate why theoretical knowledge is preferred to skill training. Additionally, the second reason behind my agreement is the higher weightage to facts in examination than practical knowledge. To explain, most schools and universities conduct written exams and check the knowledge of the student on the basis of theory the child is able to cram and mark them accordingly. Additionally, the percentage of theory marks is 70, whereas practical is only 30. For example, in all the education boards, specifically in India, pupils are graded maximumly on the basis of facts they are able to put in their exams, and they get admitted into universities as their attained marks in those exams. Thus, the above example clearly explains that universities and schools highly prioritize theory over practical knowledge. To conclude, the main reasons for focusing more on facts learning are benefits in choosing a career line and more preference for theory in assessment criteria. In my view, the theory is based on any skill, so it is significant to introduce the facts before acquiring the required skill set