Public health is becoming an urgent issue nowadays. Some argue that government should create nutrition and food choice laws to improve public health, while others believe that it is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that the laws with regard to nutrition and food choices ought to be enforced by governments in order to deal with the increasing public health problems, other people believe that it is a personal issue which should be responded to by individuals themselves. In my opinion, I consider that people's health is their own responsibility and they should be the one who care for it. On the one hand, some people contend that the health crises would be handled effectively if the laws are implemented. For instance, governments can restrict the proportion of sugars allowed in beverages such as soft drinks. This could be the first step to keeping low-nutritious foods away from people or even banning them from the market. Furthermore, unlike personal choices which can be done merely on a limited scale, enforcing the laws can tackle the issue on a larger scope. Thus, it will, spontaneously, lessen the overall consumption of unhealthy diets at a national level. Nevertheless, it is often believed that people's behaviour is a major problem and I agree. It is undeniable that even when governments and food companies join their forces, final decisions still lie upon each individual. Lifestyle changes, for example, would be a sustainable solution for this ongoing health crisis. Moreover, the modification is more practical compared to the food laws since only a little effort is required to make it successful. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that the country stands a better chance to overcome its public health issue if every individual is willing to aid and adjust their food-consuming habit.