Students should choose a university majo that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

In the modern times of highly competitive work environment and lucrative paying jobs, people are faced with a dilemma about career-path selection. Some people consider monetary benefits over career interests. However, in my opinion, selecting careers based on the expected pay is completely preposterous. Incoming university students are tempted to choose majors based on the prevalent market pay rates. A highly remunerating job will make an individual financially more stable than an average-paying job, as a result, students tend to choose such careers. Moreover, university attendees believe they will be able to pay student loans faster, than their counterparts and can quickly become debt-free. According to a Princeton research article, for instance, it was seen that over 50% of high-school graduates are considering Computer science majors owing to their high remuneration. Consequently, it's believed that people choose careers as per pay. On the other hand, students just choosing careers based on pay is highly unreasonable in my opinion due to numerous reasons. First and foremost, owing to their greed for money, people end up in a major which they don't seem to enjoy and eventually fail miserably in exams. Additionally, even after earning they don't feel excited and self-satisfied about the work they are performing. For instance, students taking subjects just because of high pay in the future leads to lesser innovation and economic development of the nation. Hence, students should consider their interests above all. Although the monetary benefit of a particular career tempts one to choose a specific major, however, taking such an approach is superfluous and should be dealt with carefully. In conclusion, I am of the strong opinion to follow one's interest and passion, as this can eventually take you to the top and be financially more secure.