Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programme (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporaneous era, the significance of volunteer work as an essential subject in institutions has been a hot topic of debate amongst intellectuals. There is a set of people who believe that this should be made mandatory for high school learners I, withstand this notion. This essay will examine how working for the public can be advantageous for individuals. Commencing with the salient reason that why unpaid voluntary work should be made part of the institution's curriculum, is to develop a sense of empathy amongst the individuals for other creations. Additionally, while working as volunteers, individuals also tend to have better physical health. For example, a recent journal published by Harvard University, revealed that unpaid work as an obligatory part of school courses not only significantly boosts physical well-being but also develops a strong sense of compassion that remains throughout the lives of learners. Furthermore, apart from improving physical health and development of empathy, when students engage in unpaid volunteer jobs such as improving the neighbourhood, their confidence level enhances because when they interact with the community, they develop extroverted personalities can communicate with their clients effectively when they enter the workplace. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the School of Psychology, Chicago Booth School, disclosed that the adults who had extroverted personalities voted in favour of unpaid NGO jobs that instilled confidence in them. For this reason, it is evident that unpaid work for the welfare of people is of utmost importance. I believe that when individuals do free jobs without having revenue in mind, they prefer national interest over personal interest later in life. Therefore, it should be made part of the curriculum. To conclude, unpaid voluntary work should be included in the college curriculum so that students develop empathy, improve their physical health and develop an extroverted confident personality that can be beneficial in their adulthood.