Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

t is thought by many that the government might enact regulations to restrict or even ban dangerous sports, whereas others contend that people should freely choose to attend any sports they desire. In my perspective, having the freedom to take part in any sports and activities would be my preferred choice and I will give manifold justifications why I side with the latter one. On the one hand, it is undeniable that some extreme sports could bring detrimental effects on physical and mental health and thereby, the government should ban these activities in order to maintain the well-being of their citizens. To be more specific, if one individual is not mentally prepared, attending these dangerous activities, such as sky-diving can lead to the feeling of extreme fear and eventually give way to heart attack, which can be blamed as the main cause leading to death. In addition, preventing citizens from attending dangerous sports can be seen as a way to protect them from unwanted tragedies, such as getting physically injured from participating in these sports. On the other hand, it is true that people have the right to do whatever they want, in order to satisfy their needs for entertainment purposes, regardless of its form. Given the fact that participants are well-educated to be aware of the consequences and totally prepared before taking any form of sports, they should be allowed to experience these activities at a manageable level. Therefore, instead of restricting these activities, the government should entitle citizens to freely decide their favourite sports. Furthermore, the demand for extreme sports nowadays is broader, since the need to reduce stress has risen dramatically and the number of people who are observed as adrenaline junkies also grow, letting people take part in extreme sports can be seen as a way to satisfy the citizen’s needs, thereby helping the society to become more comfortable to live in. GOOD In conclusion, albeit the rational reasons for banning dangerous activities do exist, I believe it is negligible compared to their advantages. In lieu of restrictions, the government should ensure the safety of participants.