Many teenagers are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job. What are the advantages and disadvantages of teenagers working part-time?

Nowadays part-time jobs are becoming more common. Even parents are encouraging their children to look for a side work. This practice has both merits and demerits which will be discussed in the following essay. Obviously, looking for a teenage odd job has many advantages. Firstly, the most important plus-side given by a free time job is experience. Such activities make the young, especially business-minded ones, more career-oriented as they have the chance of real-time exposure to the job environment in advance. For example, a teenager who looks forward to starting a cafeteria in future can gain knowledge about the work atmosphere, the method of dealing with customers etc by working partly as a waiter or waitress during their academics itself. Additionally, these freelance efforts can improve the skills like time management, self-dependency etc among them. Despite the advantages mentioned above, I personally believe that there are some disadvantages too. To begin with, one primary effect is the lack of focus on education. Indeed, teens get busy with freelance works they often find it difficult to show good academic performance since working part-time is time consuming. Furthermore, we cannot predict the nature of the public one has to deal with during their work schedule. For instance, a teenager working in nightclubs as an attendant has a high risk of being seduced by heroin and other drug-addicted people. Consequently. their life itself can be in danger. To conclude, free-time assignments have both positive and negative effects. An effect can have either a positive or negative impact on oneself depending on their nature and attitude. It is advisable that parents should properly evaluate the skills and abilities of their children before encouraging them to look for part-time endeavor.