Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

The advancement of technology has brought us to a new way of communication like we have never imagined before. Plenty of online communication platforms have been established by far, such as WhatsApp call and video call, Skype, Zoom, Instagram video call, etc. The following essay will share about the advantages that these tools may give us. Originally, people must see each other in person if they have something to talk to. Nowadays, people can do it by online. With this kind of invention, will lead us to the first advantage, which is to save cost. People do not need to spend money to travel anymore just to see someone they need to meet. Moreover, if one of the family members or friends are living abroad, they can only use the technology if they feel longing for each other. They can do video call instead. The second advantage will be to save energy. People do not need to spend so much energy just to see someone. This includes the energy to get ready, to take transportations, or simply just to walk to the meeting place for instance. People can only call their loved ones or friends just by sitting on the couch at their home or by lying on their bed. The third advantage, people will have wider network of international-wide friends. There are a lot of platforms that allow us to meet someone new through Instagram or Facebook, for example. This will be beneficial for people to learn new things such as foreign languages and cultures. Additionally, people ’s skills and knowledge will be enhanced. In conclusion, having technologies that allow us to communicate internationally have great advantages. Among them are to save money, to save energy, and to have wider international network that will lead to enhancement of skills and knowledge. However, this matter must have some advantages as well. Nevertheless, in my opinion, the beneficial is outweigh the detrimental.