In despite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world, still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of the progress we have made in agriculture in the 21st century, in the present, many individuals in developing nations lack food. It is a common fact that these countries face a range of problems the most alarming one being insufficient water supply. To battle this problem, it can be argued that developed nations should employ more indirect methods of assistance, such as creating workplaces instead of providing humanitarian aid. Around 95% of the money in the world´s wealth belongs to approximately 1% of Earth´s population. This means the majority of us are not even lower-class citizens who live in cities, on the; contrary, most of these live on less than a dollar a day, even though they have numerous children. What makes the situation even worse is that these depend on unpredictable water resources such as rainfall to produce food as well as feed their animals, leading to serious hunger. For example, the rural areas in Somalia where trees have been cut to export charcoal to the Arab world for decades, are now facing a catastrophic drought. In real life; however, there are no quick-fix solutions to such complicated issues as the one mentioned above. An immediate measurement would have been to provide humanitarian aid, but this has been done for several decades, without any dependable results. Therefore, instead of making people passive receivers of aid, we could suggest a more proactive approach. Here, rich countries can invest in long-term projects, in which they give the locals opportunity to be employed so they will not depend on non-renewable sources for income, like charcoal. In this process it is crucial that the projects aim for the correct demographics, meaning they need to offer services that cover the most basic human needs in a remote area such as food, drink, clothes and shelter materials. In conclusion, the lack of sustainable water resources is one of the main problems that lead to hunger in third-world countries, and a potential solution to this issue is to generate more job opportunities funded by developed nations.