Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this?

More and more high school graduates choose to pursue higher education rather than immediately joining the workforce. Students can learn advanced knowledge and obtain their degrees by going to university but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of young individuals pursuing tertiary education is the chance to acquire profound knowledge. Unlike secondary schools, the university usually offers courses taught by professors who are experts in their fields. For example, in medical schools, clinical classes are always supervised by practising physicians to ensure that students receive accurate and precise information. Secondly, going to university is advantageous because academic qualifications could be the key to obtaining a successful life. It is undeniable that certificates of a higher degree open numerous job opportunities for young people which may lead to a better career progression in the future. On the other hand, one problem when high school students opt to study at a university level is that it potentially exposes them to financial difficulties. Tuition fees for university in some developing countries, for instance, can be very expensive, making it unaffordable for some young people. As a consequence, they would have to take student loans and be in debt even before having a stable job. Moreover, the extended duration of university education will delay the entry into the work field. In other words, young individuals may lose their chance to earn money during this period, as opposed to those who start their careers earlier. In conclusion, while young people can benefit from possessing university diplomas and useful knowledge, it can also lead to financial burdens in the long run.