Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugary food become the favourite one for all generations ranging from kids to the elderly. However, the sugary product undeniably triggers negative effects on health. It is argued that the cost should be increased to reduce the consumption. In my opinion, I completely agree with the aforementioned statements. A trend in social media unconsciously addresses health problems if the public cannot perceive it wisely. Nowadays, people are easier to follow for something that becomes a trend in social media, for example, Instagram and Tik Tok. The demand for having a billion followers causes people to do something that was unordinary. For instance, several times ago, there were a number of people on Instagram and Tik Tok who drank a gallon of Boba tea. If the video is watched by the young generation who have not yet been aware of the effect of drinking sweet beverages too much, they are probably addicted to drinking them, especially when the price is relatively cheap. Consequently, diabetes or obesity cannot be hindered by the ubiquitous product. One way that may be able to see the solution to minimize the consumption of sugary food and drink is by increasing the price. In other words, when the rate becomes significantly expensive, it is predicted that the public will tend to purchase cheaper food which should be healthier. Furthermore, this policy may compel society to carefully choose what they will consume. As a long-term effect, they should gradually switch to healthier diets and keep their body healthy. In conclusion, although sugary products receive high demands in society, it causes negative effects on health. Thus, the expenditure should be reduced by increasing the price.