Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

In recent years, the amount of food that is thrown away uneaten has increased, achieving a great deal of media attention. Given that food waste has far-reaching effects, both nationally and globally, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding the solutions. There is a number of reasons why a large amount of food are wasted around the world. First, since most of the food is meat and vegetables, which are perishable, there are always best-before dates or expiries labelling on them. This means that if people don't consume them quickly enough, foods will be no longer edible and they will have to discard them as a result. Second, the way humans prepare or produce food also contributes to food waste. For instance, if a dish in a restaurant or at home is not delicious because of bad cooking or preparation, people will be more likely to throw them away. Nevertheless, there are many actionable solutions to address this issue. Even if food scraps are inedible for humans, they can still be donated to farmers who can use them for livestock or animal feed. This would not only benefit the agriculture industry but also mitigate the environmental burden. In addition, food waste can also be used to compost or produce renewable energy. For example, technological advancements today allow humans to turn oil and fat into biodiesel fuel that is not only lower cost but also environmentally friendly. In conclusion, although food waste can cause a whole host of other problems, each individual can take steps to solve this issue if they are aware that they all have the power to do it.