Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

In recent years, governments around the world have been calling on entities to pay closer attention to food waste due to its far-reaching effects, both nationally and globally. Given that decomposing food waste can cause a whole host of environmental problems, identifying the reasons is key to finding solutions. There is a number of reasons a large amount of food is wasted every year. First, since meat and vegetables are perishable, they always have best-before dates or expiry labelling on them. This means that if people don't consume them quickly enough before they go bad, food waste will occur as a result. Second, the way humans prepare food or cook also contributes to food waste. For instance, if people prepare or cook more than they can finish, the leftover will be more likely to be discarded. Nevertheless, there is a variety of actionable solutions to tackle food waste. First, inedible foods or the leftover can be donated to farmers who can use them to feed livestock or animal. This would not only benefit the agriculture industry but also help reduce the environmental burden. In addition, instead of diverting wasted food into landfills or incinerations, humans can harness them for recycling purposes. In fact, organic matter such as fat and oil can produce renewable energy, such as biodiesel fuel, playing an important role in combating climate change. In conclusion, although addressing this issue may appear challenging, individuals can take steps to diminish the amount of discarded food gradually. By simply donating food scraps for farms to live animals and recycling them into biofuel, humans can make a big difference in their environmental practices.