New technologies for communicating and working remotely have led to an increase in the number of people working from home. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The massive development of the internet and gadgets has extensive benefits in supporting people to land a job from across the country without even leaving the comfort of their bedroom. While this can offer better flexibility, the risks of being prone to burnout and other mental health issues are worth considering as well. In this essay, I would like to argue the benefits and drawbacks of the trend toward remote working. To begin with, the trend of remote working arises due to the concerns of working-class people who work 9-to-5 over how hard it is to achieve work-life balance and how little free time they have to spend with their loved ones. Working from home enables people to have more balance in their professional lives because they can allocate their commute time to spending time with their family or doing hobbies. Unfortunately, this benefit also comes with its own drawbacks. Since people do not need to spare time to commute and have more leeway in setting up their work hours, they are often trapped in burnout. Furthermore, it is easier for employees to end up working extra hours because there are no strict work hours. To sum up, working from home can be beneficial as long as people can set healthy boundaries to know when it is time to stop working and enjoy the time to do whatever matters.