Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30s. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

Over the last decade, there is a tremendous rise in house prices and land available for sale. It is restricting well-settled young individuals to purchase or to rent their own property. While there is an advantage to it, the disadvantages are plenty and cannot be dismissed. In this essay, I will examine the pros and cons of this trend and elaborate on my viewpoint. Globally, house prices have significantly increased which has resulted in many capable individuals settle-in with their parents even in their late 20s to early 30s. The only benefit to this is the additional support they provide to the parents in their old age, and also, independent kids are able to help with the household expenses and offer emotional support to parents as they live as a close-knit family. India has the highest number of adults in their 30s living with their parents, therefore, it's a country where it's normal to be dependent on your parents for the housing facility. This is the reason we see many children growing up around their grandparents, which in my opinion, eases a mother's workload. On the other hand, living with parents as adults partly take away the independence of decision-making. As you are not able to take all your important life decisions by yourself, moreover, there are some expectations from you, like washing dishes at a certain time, curfew, etc., that you are bound to fulfil as you are under their roof. Another reason is the lack of respect for wanting privacy. Sometimes, for example, parents do not value your time and space as for them, you are 24/7 available and they would invade your space for any discussion at any time they deem appropriate. If this occurs repeatedly, it can lead to frustration and tension in the house. For this reason, it is imperative to own a house as you grow older for privacy and to make life decisions without unsolicited advice from parents. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, I agree that owning a house is imperative to fully explore your personal way of living; however, on the contrary, the advantage of your kids growing up with their grandparents should be taken into consideration.