In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People have different views on the influences that a large number of the country's population choose to settle down in cities have on themselves and society. While there are some detrimental impacts on their children and their mental health, I do believe that they can benefit more from such migration. On the one hand, it would cause adverse effects both individually and socially. To begin with, speaking from the megapolis side, the immigration of these disadvantaged people would cause a shortage of housing and even severer traffic congestion in urban centres. Furthermore, the draining of these valuable labourers would hinder the development of agriculture. For example, it would trigger the descending productivity of grains and rice. In addition, these villagers would experience a higher degree of marginalization, greater pressure from work and living and even more discrimination from people around them, which would impact their overall sense of well-being. Lastly, children of these disadvantaged individuals would be turned into leftover kids and feel much lonelier than their counterparts who are accompanied by their parents. There are many reasons why I support the idea that these migrated populations would contribute a lot both to themselves and society as a whole. Firstly, these employees would earn more money and improve their quality of life. For instance, they would have more disposable income and decent savings to provide better medical conditions for their parents and better education for their kids. Besides, this behaviour would expand their horizon and enlarge their social connections and help them access higher social ladders. Thirdly, highly-intensive competitiveness in cities can contribute to their rapid growth in career paths, enhance their professional skills and have a more prosperous future. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals are concerned about the prevalence of such behaviour, I would argue that it would bring more benefits than drawbacks including improved living standards, an expanded social circle and an advanced working ability, which are all valued in modern society.