With an increasing population communicating via internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become the thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

As the world keeps spinning, the development of technologies also keeps increasing in a way that we cannot imagine. While some of our parents are still using old-fashioned communication such as letters, postcards, and face-to-face communication, in this disrupted era, people tend to move to use the internet, e-mail and online meeting platforms. While some believe this way of communication needs to be replaced, I believe that the classic ways of communication still need to exist. For the past 3 years, Covid-19 makes us disrupt several activities and communication is one of the sectors that had a huge change with the help of the internet and online communication. While these methods offer several benefits, I believe that some of the activities still need to be conducted in an offline method that involved emotion though it. During online communication, I think we are not putting our passion and feeling that much compared to offline meeting, this is due to during online meeting we usually not turning on the camera and tends to conduct other activities therefore the business results will not be as positive. As a business person, there are plenty of examples that I already experienced, and the results would be offline negotiation gave more positive impacts on our business compared to online negotiation. While I disagree with the opinion, there is also benefit followed for this disruption and one of them would be time-consuming. In an online meeting, we can save plenty of time, especially the time for commuting. Specifically in Jakarta, that have one of the worst traffic in the world, reduce in commuting will also increase our productivity and as a result more positive business results. To conclude, while I disagree with the main ideas, there were also benefits that followed. With this in mind, I believe, we need to be picky about when should we use online communication and when we should pursue offline communication for giving better business results for our community.