Some school leavers tend to go for travelling or work for a period of time before directly going to university. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages?

The trend of doing work or travelling before going to university is popular among young students in the modern age. There can be a lot of benefits of this phenomenon, however, with some drawbacks too, which will be discussed in further paragraphs. There is a myriad of advantages to gaining some work or travel experience after schooling and before going to higher educational institutes. First of all, It really helps to gain confidence among students. they travel to various places, where they observe different cultures as well as languages. As a result, they become confident. Secondly, they learn to budget. When they do schooling, they do not know the importance of money as they get pocket money whenever they wanted, from their parents. To exemplify, a student who will indulge in work after his secondary education will know the significance of "hard-earned" money as compared to those who directly took admissions to university after school. Apart from this, It also helps to collect money which will be helpful in his/her tertiary edification fees. On the other hand, the major disadvantage of taking a leave between school and university is that it creates a gap in the study and it leads to failure. For example, a pupil who is not in touch with studies for 6 months and doing another task such as touring which is more fascinating than studying, will show less interest to take admission again. Another drawback is, some learners can astray towards wrong deeds or some petty crimes as they take a break from their studies, which is burdened life for most students and now they think they have more liberty to do anything. So, more freedom or a long break from education can be detrimental to their holistic development. To summarise, taking a break from studying and experiencing a job or world-related knowledge, before entering into higher education is really helpful for students but to observe these things the time or a gap should be limited, otherwise, it may create negative impacts on students.