Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree? Provide relevant examples if necessary.

There is no one on this planet who does not like to get a raise but the question is at what price? In my opinion, a hefty salary is always something we should aspire for but after a certain amount of money, it’s the satisfaction while doing a job that will keep you motivated and take you places in the long run, therefore I do not agree with the statement. In this essay, we will discuss arguments favouring both sides. Steve Jobs once said “Your work is going to cover a large part of your life so make sure that you keep looking till you find your passion, don’t settle”. Having a job that does not excite you or give you a sense of achievement kills the ability of an individual’s mind to think out of the box. For instance, can you imagine a person who spends 10 hours daily at his job and is not really happy or excited towards it despite taking home a big cheque at each month's end? Such people tend to get less productive with time as they are lost for purpose in life, which eventually affects their personal lives as well. A contrary view to this opinion could be that people who come from nothing have to scrap their way up to the top and provide financial security to their families even if it is through a job that does not necessarily align with their passion. While I agree with this view, I believe there is a diminishing marginal utility effect with money wherein after a certain amount, it is no longer the differentiator. To conclude, I would say that the importance of money cannot be underestimated, but having a job where your heart feels content will help an individual propel in life.