Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling…) Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern day, the strong evolution of the Internet has helped people a lot when everything they do becomes easier and more favourable. Hence, information technology is no exception as it is gradually becoming a good friend to everyone, especially to workers, which facilitates efficient performance while they are at home, at a coffee shop or even on a journey instead of going to their company. From my perspective, I actually believe that the impact of information technology has more positive effects than its drawbacks and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons, with a few examples as attached, why I think so. First of all, these days, we only need a laptop which connects to the internet, we can learn and work very easily because it can assist people to save time and convenience. It is commonly known that if everyday workers have to go to their firms, they need to pay a variety of expenses like petroleum or dress while they can finish their work well when working at home. Furthermore, only working in a single place like the company will make workers feel bored, which can reduce their creativity and dynamism in their work. Therefore, changing the working environment is extremely necessary. In fact, information technology allows people to work remotely in a very convenient and free way. As for employees whose jobs are associated with entering data or typing reports with mere word processors, the location of the computer seems to be of no consequence. On the contrary, besides the positive effects of working online through the internet, it also has many disadvantages on the working style and productivity of employees. One can see that when people work at home or when they are enjoying their trip, they are more likely to be distracted and unable to concentrate on work, thereby reducing work efficiency. In addition, employees will become dependent on technology and the Internet to solve assigned problems instead of thinking and applying their own knowledge. In brief, after analyzing all the aspects mentioned above, sometimes not coming to the office to work will reduce productivity and affect employees ' ability to work. It is also an undeniable occurrence that employees who are entitled to telecommuting appear to be still hesitant to accept the offer. While some feel that they need regular interaction with a group, many are highly concerned that they will not have the consideration for promotion if they are not more visible in the office setting. Furthermore, supervising the telecommuters in a large workforce scattered across the large regions would be too challenging, or, at least, systems for managing them are not fully developed yet. To sum up, although there are various drawbacks of working online, I still believe that the benefits it brings us are more significant. How to use information technology depends on each person, so we need to be conscious and segment reasonable time to complete the work in the best way. Furthermore, in a globalized and modern world where anything is feasible, working from anywhere and utilizing modern technologies effectively is one of the great work experiences.