some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

For some the death penalty for those who commit violent crimes is appropriate, while for others, it is too much punishment and unacceptable. In this essay, I will explore some advantages and disadvantages and give my opinion on the matter. People who are against the death penalty as capital punishment argue that humans are prone to go down the wrong path in life at some point. Mistakes that are made when we go down the wrong direction should not define us, and everyone should be given a second chance to make amends. An advantage of not having the death penalty is that where there is life, there is hope this means that people can still be rehabilitated as long as they are alive. The disadvantage of not having the death penalty is that violent criminals are not deterred from committing violent crimes. Many studies have shown that places, where the death penalty is in place, have fewer violent crimes. This shows that the death penalty acts as a deterrent for gruesome crimes. As an advantage of the death penalty, other studies have shown that violent crime offenders when sentenced to life without parole, are a burden on taxpayers. Even though they have no prospect of being released, they cost taxpayers millions to look after annually. To conclude I believe the death penalty is still necessary for some extreme cases of violent crimes to discourage other offenders in the future. In the cases where there are possibilities for rehabilitation, the death penalty should not apply.