Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

In many countries, formal exams are assessed their knowledge by universities and schools at the end of each semester. The main reason is to determine their knowledge and level students. Also, there are types such as written, practical and physical in determining knowledge of the students. To begin with, the formal exams were conducted by schools and universities to check the students ability on various subject at the end of the semester. More importantly, by this method students can evaluate whether he or she is progressing. Another way to assess students is to use one-on-one interviews. In this method, students incorporate theoretical and practical knowledge of subject requirements. Moreover, this method also aims to lose the excitement of students. In conclusion, every semester, formal exams are applied by institutions to evaluate students progress in many countries. This is because exam organizers hold the view that it is the best technique. While this method is seen as most effective, face-to-face interview is also a possible way of assessing students.