In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

People have different views on the influences that the migration of villagers has on themselves and society as a whole. While there are some positive effects on individuals and society as a whole, I do believe that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, the practice brings lots of benefits to these migrators who resettle in urban areas. It not only offers job opportunities for these villagers coming from the countryside but also gives providers a chance for them to change their life. They are likely to make a lot of money and will have a higher standard of living than being in the countryside. For society, migration of residents from rural areas to urban areas can provide a lot of labour force for firms that are located in cities. This can increase productivity and may stimulate economic growth. However, the disadvantages brought by the resettlement of villagers should not be ignored. First of all, a decline in the number of the labour force in the countryside is detrimental to rural construction due to the lack of productivity. This is also against the government’s aim of reducing poverty. Besides, as more and more people are moving to urban regions, there can be a shortage of jobs and housing in the cities and traffic congestion may occur as well.The citizens may suffer from noise pollution and are likely to be short of clean water. What’s more, a rapid increase in the number of consumers may lead to demand-driven inflations which makes the goods and services unaffordable. For villages with a long history, the departure of the younger generations may cause losses of their traditional culture as there are no inheritors. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why citizens raise concerns about the excessive migration to their downtown, but I would argue that there are more benefits than drawbacks that it brings.