In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts, while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend, and do you think this tendency should be changed?

In various educational institutions, humanities majors in general are predominantly associated with women while men tend to be more enthusiastic in scientific domains of study. Personally, I believe that this phenomenon should undergo a change. The main factors leading to this inclination and further explanation for my perspective will be analyzed in this essay below. This tendency results from two main factors. To begin with, society's conventional expectations for each gender could lead to possible implications for the aforementioned trend. For instance, throughout history, the ideology of women having to be in less competitive professions such as history or literature will present elegance and modesty, which resulting in the enhancement of femininity has been deeply ingrained into people's hearts and minds. On the contrary, it is believed that more challenging and physically-active courses like STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) should be dominated by male students. Both sexes, eventually, have difficulties giving up the stereotypes and pressure from their communities or even from their own families. Another reason for this is due to parents' orientation towards certain jobs from a very early age, each identification will show distinct competence and excellence in distinguished aspects that lead to sharp gender-specific career preferences. In detail, it is an inescapable fact that male-identified individuals are better performers in rational and logical thinking, causing the absence of the other sex in the same analytical-related fields. In contrast, female individuals tend to achieve their full potential in perceiving art or languages since they are more aesthetic and sentimental. In my opinion, it is significant to give the aforementioned pattern a transformation. The national leaders should join hands in order to promulgate policies for the schools and universities to encourage students of all sexes to be entitled to participate in any class that piqued their interests. It, therefore, will become a stimulation for pupils to have a sense of acknowledgement and cultivate aptitudes in order to gain more profound insights into their callings. In conclusion, two major elements causing the trend are the social norms towards individuals and the differences in each sex's outstanding characteristics. I would again assert that with support from the government, the young generation should challenge obsolete social prejudices as they can shift towards more gender equality and the eradication of discrimination.