Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact both on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I am of the personal belief that web-based social networks should not have a negative impact on individuals and society, and such an opinion is largely based on the reasons elaborated below. Basically, I believe that social networking sites are a faster and more efficient way of communicating than traditional methods, which help people keep in touch with friends and family by sharing photos, and videos, and using various applications rather than writing a letter. This, I suppose, can be best exemplified by a study carried out by the University of Shahid Beheshti in the city of Tehran in 2007 on university students, in which it was seen that social media applications such as LinkedIn, Facebook, and Instagram have revolutionised communication in that the online social media make spoken and written communication between people possible anytime and anywhere without confining them to only geographical boundaries. Whatsmore it has been said that social media provides a platform for businesses to connect with their target audience, engage with customers, improve their marketing, and reduce advertising costs, which consequently helps businesses grow. I cannot but agree with such an opinion, as best illustrated by an article written in the Journal of Wireless Network and Business in which it was stated that social media data serves as an indicator of a company's current brand awareness and causes effectiveness in not only company sales but a brand loyalty. Finally, I would like to conclude by saying that online social media has a positive impact on the number of job opportunities that are in high demand, and people already work full-time on social media. For instance, as in the case of the social media industry, constantly needs bright, motivated programmers and developers with fresh ideas and perspectives. Another example that can be illustrated is that it seems like nowadays, 59% of people go by the job title "blogger" than ever before. Based on the aforementioned argument, I must reiterate that I believe that web-based social networks should not have a negative impact on individuals and society.