All students should study arts and music in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that activating the right brain by learning some arts is essential to boosting the capacity of the left brain, which regulates our logical thinking, such as processing math and scientific information. Although it may offer some benefits to students, I disagree that arts and music lessons should be mandatory in schools. To begin with, school is not merely a place where kids can learn new knowledge beyond what they get from their guardians. Beyond that, it is a place where students are trained to have a critical mindset in order to process the information that they receive on a daily basis, such as through social media or casual chatting with peers, so they do not easily believe in misinformation, hoaxes, or hate messages. Therefore, students are encouraged to criticize the lessons they learn, something that is always welcomed in science and social classes. Unfortunately, this learning method can be challenging to apply in art classes. For example, when students learn about surrealism in paintings, they are expected to take it and try to paint instead of criticizing the philosophy or the untold history of oppression behind the concept. On the other hand, students have already been burdened with studying hard to prepare themselves for exams for graduation or university entrance. Forcing them to learn and excel in the arts, something that may not be their passion, will only add additional stress. However, schools can offer arts and music as extracurriculars to accommodate those who are into the arts or just want to try some relaxing activities outside of their regular classes. Doing so will serve the true purpose of art itself, which is as a form of self-expression and solace where there is no target to be achieved. To sum up, I believe that it is best for students if arts and music are not mandatory in schools.