Some people feel that playing computer games has a negative impact on children’s health and social skills. Others say that it can have a positive impact on their lives. Discuss both these views.

These days, instead of playing a physical sport, children are spending much of their free time in front of the computer. Some worry that playing computer games has detrimental effect on pupils’ health, while others think that, it can lead to a positive way. This essay will explore, both the positive and negative impacts of playing computer gamescomputer games on children. To begin with, many children are playing computer games which required prolonged hours. It leads to obesity problems among many individuals. In America, for,instance 30% of teenagers are facing overweight and obesity issues due to a sedentary lifestyle. If children would not have complete access to computer games, they would be much healthier compared to now. Due to the long hours spent on computers, one’s social, communication and networking skills are compromised. As a result, a child could not get along with people and feel isolated. However, playing computer games has benefits as well for children. On the other hand, the young generation is very good at grasping new technology. Playing computer games develops cognitive ability among kids. It also helps them to improve their focus in every walk of life. Many video games teach pupils how to delegate and work as a team. Games can also improve hand and eye coordination and boost confidence in the children. A study conducted by Oxford University shows that children who are into computer games are more sharper and decisive compared to their counterparts. To conclude, despite its negative impacts, playing computer games within a limited time frame can lead to very positive among children. Although their effects can be dangerous if children spend much time on screen and play computer games unconsciously such as physical health issues.