Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income.

The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement? I firmly disagree that an individual should be held responsible for his own health and medical benefits are not provided for free irrespective of an individual's social status, as few treatments can be extremely expensive and some natural incidents are also out of a person's reach. To begin with, free health care benefits are important to bear high-cost treatments, especially for the ones who cannot afford them. Having such services, people might not want to suffer till death as their bills will be automatically taken care of. For instance, people suffering from cancer can be saved if proper therapies like chemo and radiation are well offered on time, but as these procedures are really costly, they are not really left with any choice. As a result, providing free medical benefits can help reduce the mortality rate drastically. Furthermore, it is true that a person's well-being should be his utmost priority but there are certain parameters that can not be controlled such as natural calamities and accidents. To cite an example, thousands of people lost their lives and got injured due to a series of earthquakes that occurred in Istanbul this year. It has harmed one-third of the nation's population and we cannot really blame anyone for the same. To sum up, it is fair to believe that a person should take care of his own health, but, in today’s world, external factors have a significant effect on one’s well-being. However, in my opinion, the government should start a few schemes where needy people are benefitted medically. I believe the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoints.