Nowadays, people are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why do they do so? Suggest measures to solve the problem.

Modernization and advancement in technology have also brought about changes in the food and beverage Industry. Sugar-based refreshments are one such development and these have become increasingly popular in the last few decades, and this has led to many health-related headaches. There are many reasons why the consumption of such refreshments has increased, which I shall discuss in the forthcoming paragraphs. I would also suggest some steps that can be taken to ameliorate this problem. There are several reasons for the popularity of such sugar-based sips. The main reason is the advertising of such products. The companies that manufacture these brews have very big promotional campaigns, spend billions of dollars on marketing and use pervasive forms of media, like newspapers and television. They mostly target children and youngsters, who are easily swayed by these ads. They have famous stars as the brand ambassadors, and when people see their role models endorsing these drinks, they don't think twice before consuming such drinks, irrespective of their harmful effects. Another reason is that some of these drinks contain certain substances that act as stimulants and are addictive, such as caffeine and other chemical stimulants. When people start consuming them, they get some kick out of them, and then there is no going back. It has become increasingly important to deal with this issue at the earliest possible, because the increased consumption of such sugar-based drinks has led to a plethora of health problems, like obesity, diabetes, an increase in cholesterol levels, dental problems, and many other diseases. The first step needs to be taken by the parents Children follow what they observe and parents need to act as role models. They also need to get their children into the habit of having healthier drinks, like fresh fruit juices, milk, coconut water, and so on. They should encourage their children to have natural sugars rather than artificial ones. The government can also help by imposing more taxes on such drinks so that people are discouraged from buying them. Awareness can be spread about the harmful effects of such drinks, through social messages on the TV, the internet and through newspaper ads. Instead of having sugar-based drinks at theatres, restaurants, cinemas, etc., such places can promote healthier drinks, containing natural sugars and no additives. To sum up, there are several reasons why sugary drinks have gained popularity among the masses. However, many steps can be taken to mitigate the health problems that have arisen due to these drinks.