Many developing countries are exploring their tourism. What are the causes? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the number of developing countries exploring their tourism is on the rise. There are several reasons why this is the case, and I am deeply convinced that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages. There are a host of reasons why increasing numbers of developing countries promote the development of tourism. Firstly, tourism is proven to be a potent instrument for economic development. It is true that governments in developing countries do not have sufficient revenue to improve the public well-being, which is exacerbated by the deficiency of technology and investment. Therefore, there is an urgent need for these governments to attract investment and accumulate national wealth, which can be easily satisfied by tourism. Secondly, it is cost-effective for governments in developing countries to explore tourism rather than other industries. Making good use of existing natural sceneries and historical heritages is much more economic than building factories. Thus, tourism is an efficient way to earn foreign exchange, thus promoting the prosperity of their own countries. Despite the above argument, I believe that possible dangers are far more significant than the benefits. On the one hand, developing tourism can be seen as positive due to its contribution to economy. Admittedly, tourism will bring in millions of tourists every year, stimulating GDP growth and inviting an increase in domestic employment and income of the government. On the other hand, the development of tourism can also generate disastrous results to the tradition culture. The invasion of tourists will inevitably change local inhabitant’s traditional lifestyle and even some uncivilized behaviors of tourists will directly cause damage to traditional buildings. In conclusion, I believe there are various reasons for developing countries to explore tourism. But it seems to me that the benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks.