In many parts of the world, it is common for one parent to stay at home and raise a new born child while other works full time to earn money. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are several options for parenting such as both parents fully focusing on their work and only 1 parent that focusing on their career. While there are several peoples that still argue, from my point of view it will be better if at least one parent is commit 100% to their child compared to fully becoming a fulltime working parent. In my opinion, it’s our job to take responsibility to raise our children until grownups. If as a parent, we both pursue our careers, there will be a risk that our children cannot be taken care of well. Even though there is a nanny or babysitter, we cannot rely on them due to each person have their own rules and norms that will be difficult if we do not deliver directly to our children. If I flashback to time during primary school, some of my friends that have bad behaviors and habits in school were raised by their babysitter. This happens due to their parents is not 100% available at their home but both pursue their careers. While there will be some benefits if one of the parent will be focusing on their children, a disadvantage also followed. Due to one parent is focusing on their children, there will be an opportunity for loss of income to the family. However, this issue can be tackled by having a part-time job or open a small or medium enterprise that can be conducted parallel when we raise our children. For example, during our children goes to school, we can change our focus on our part-time job or small and medium enterprise. To summarize, if only one parent works fulltime, it will bring many benefits to the family, especially to the growths of their children. Even though there will be an opportunity loss in the family revenues, the advantages still outweigh the drawbacks because our children are more important than anything.