Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agrede or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience . Write at least 250 words

In recent years, there has been a growing trend of students taking a gap year after finishing school, causing some public controversy all over the world. Although immediately starting university is appealing, there is plenty of evidence suggesting that experiencing a year of non-academic life is the best option for students. There is a number of benefits when students decide to take a gap year before starting university. First, since they travel to different places or work in a certain position, they will have a higher chance to find out what they really like studying. For example, a student who has an internship in an accounting department will be more likely to know whether business administration is his or her suitable major or not. Second, a year of working may provide students with a great deal of money, which can be used for university intuition. In fact, those who are actually earning money for their study usually perform their best at university since they don't want to waste their money. Another compelling reason for students taking a year off is that it will enhance their studying progress when they return to university. Students who have a year of experience in any job are the ones who understand lessons much deeper than those who don't. For instance, it is highly challenging to comprehend the definition of a balance sheet or income statement if one never observes a business operating. In addition, skills that are developed in actual jobs may be a big support for students. In fact, youngsters who have good communication skills thanks to their prior job experience, will be more likely to be more confident in presentations. In conclusion, even though some might argue that this trend is negative, it can offer broad-based benefits for students. In my opinion, students should be encouraged to take a gap year because it is more beneficial in the long run.