Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been an increasing number of supermarkets that sell imported produce and goods, rather than local food production. This essay will discuss the primary reasons for this and explain why I regard this as a negative development. The reasons behind a surge in foreign products sold on market shelves are twofold. Primarily, shop owners can improve their business by offering more high-end products. This is because these imported food products often charge higher than local ones, hence generating more profit. Furthermore, introducing foreign alternatives can provide more shopping options to their customers, enlarging the comprehensiveness of this certain store and outperforming others. Additionally, in many countries, consumerism and increasing living standards have cultivated a prevalent taste for foreign commercials. For example, many young Chinese coffee drinkers prefer Gesha, a costly Ethiopia-originated coffee variety, over domestic coffee grown in Yunnan, because the former suggests exclusivity. This trend has been exerting negative impacts on domestic farmers and consumers. Firstly, the preference towards exotic produce has taken a toll on the agricultural industry. For farmers and related practitioners, a sharp decline in both turnover and profitability has devastated their lives. Moreover, it also damages the agriculture sector on a national level when the sales of domestic produce become stagnant. Secondly, food pollution during cultivation and transportation could be detrimental to public health if widely consumed. For instance, imported salmons have persistently been found contaminated by marine pollutants. In conclusion, goods imported from other countries are prevailing because of their profitable nature and a shift in individuals’ lifestyles and shopping preferences. I believe this is largely negative, for it could hinder local agricultural development and contaminated food would damage people’s health.