In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

The problem of food shortages has aroused wider concern among various countries. In view of this alarming situation, both the government and non-governmental organizations have a duty to find ways to overcome these problems. Probably the first reason related to the shortage of food is the unequal food distribution, which the developing countries cannot access enough food due to lack of resources. Since the developed countries have rapid economic activities and better transportation facilities, they are easily importing food from other countries, which is in short supply. Hong Kong is a prime example to explain this. Hong Kong is ascribed as an “Import City”, in which more than 95% of the food is imported from all around the world. Meanwhile, developing countries may not have enough resources to import the resources or even need to export their food, which is harming the situation. Another major reason that deserves our attention is the overuse of agricultural technology which leads to lower productivity of farming. As the increasing of extreme climates happened in the world, farmers would like to use agricultural technology, for,instance pesticides and chemicals, to resist extreme weather and thus increase productivity. However, overuse of the chemicals would trigger harmful effects on the environment, such as soil erosion and acid rain. In this way, the products are being affected and thus lower productivity entirely. There are several actions that could take to solve the problems described above. Government should enforce strict policies and regulations to control the usage of harmful farming technologies. More focus should be placed on using alternative farming techniques that are environmentally friendly, for,example organic farming. Farmers that are certified green should be charged a lower tax rate. There is no doubt that the monetary incentives are attracting them to choose a more ecologically farming method. The Non-government organisation (NGOs) — the United Nations should set up guidelines for the developed countries, which encourage them to reallocate their products to developing countries in order to have a more equally distributed of resources. There are also some eco-friendly farming skills that could be taught to the farmers in developing countries, which aid in tackling the root problems of insufficient food. Although more and more people are suffering from problems related to food shortages, there are steps that can be taken by the government and NGOs to alleviate the problems and it is hoped that people can lead no food unequal distribution in the future.