In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a fact that there is an increasing number of people migrating to cities, resulting in a small population in the countryside. In my perspective, this phenomenon is likely to have a negative impact on the residents. To begin with, most people move to cities to have more job opportunities. However, this can create an adverse effect since the job market would be more competitive. As a result, the unemployment rate in cities would grow considerably, putting an enormous burden on local authorities. In addition, the rising population in metropolises is accompanied by more domestic waste and vehicle emissions released into the environment. This might eventually pollute the whole region, leading to many serious problems as people may be exposed to toxic gases or contaminated water sources. Furthermore, rural-urban migration can exert a harmful influence on the labour force of the countryside, lowering its productivity and making it unlivable. To be more specific, most of the migrants are young people, leaving a large number of elderly people who are no longer working anymore. Moreover, the majority of residents in rural areas work in agriculture which contributes to the food resources of the nation. Thus, this means there would be insufficient food for the residents due to the lack of people working in this sector. In conclusion, I assert that the decline in the population of rural areas resulting from an excessive number of residents coming to cities is indeed a negative development owing to several deleterious effects it has on people.