In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries, the population of the elderly population is increasing. However, many people believe the increase lead to problems for lawmakers. Meanwhile, other people say there are many positive sides if the community has more seniors. This essay will examine whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, many countries are facing a decreased number of children. This can cause some problems for a country. Since they are retired, they do not have income and are too weak to work. They will burden the nation since they are not working, and the government needs to afford them by giving them some money. For example, someone accepts 5 million in a month without work and takes it from people's taxes. This money will have more value if used for developing some facilities in a city. As a result, they just add more problems to their country. In contrast, there are some advantages if a country has a more elderly population. They can do some errands that young people are not able to do it. First, grandparents can take care of their grandchild while parents are at work. They have more patience and are loveable. Second, seniors have a huge contribution to social activities. Since they have more time, they can use their time to help each other. For instance, many older people are joining a charity community to help preserve the environment. Finally, they give contributions to their family and community. To conclude, it is true that elderly people bring make trouble with the government. However, their contribution to their relatives and society looks as advantages outweigh the disadvantages.