Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How to do you think this statement? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

The possession of a lot of cars is increasing continually in the majority of cities in the world. As people have as many cars, the problem of ‘one big traffic jam’ is getting bigger in major cities. As far as I am strongly concerned, I totally agree with this statement. However, I believe that the mentality problem of humans is bigger than an environmental issue. From my perception, there are three main problems. Firstly, people own cars for showing off self beyond transportation. Like as much as you own many cars, you are fancier or richer than other people who do not have many cars. For instance, people living in Seoul have many cars. On average a family of two owns three or four cars. Secondly, it can cause a desire for consumption, as we see as many cars on the road and street. Through that public can feel that they are such a loser or failures without having a car. Because maybe they think, surrounding people are buying a car and that is like the symbol of social status. Lastly, most of the younger people who are having purchasing power are jealous of collecting a lot of automobiles and it is able to have an inferiority complex. According to a survey, especially younger people are planning, to buy a car immediately after getting a first job. In my opinion, the government should control the problems directly. Besides, the government can use some financial strategies such as raising the tax rate of ownership. If someone owns many automobiles, the government would raise his tax rate. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally agree with the opinion because I believe, modern society needs to change positively for individuals and associations.