People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution, causing health problems for many. What are the main reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many big cities are known for their high levels of air pollution, which causes serious illness for city residents. This essay will discuss the principal reasons for bad air quality and how this problem can be tackled. Urban pollution is generated by several sources with the single largest cause being vehicles. Today, millions of cars crowd the narrow streets. As a result, the poisonous particles emitted by the machine's diesel and petrol engines become trapped between tall buildings, causing the pollution levels to accumulate. Moreover, some of the pollution is also produced by domestic sources such as heating systems and manufacturing, though their contributions are usually significantly smaller. From my perspective, the most obvious approach to cleaning up city air is to fight the biggest polluter which is private cars. In order to reduce their numbers, two main policies should be implemented. The first one is improving public transport. If buses and trains were comfortable, affordable, and fast, more people would use them instead of driving. The second policy is introducing tax systems on older cars. To avoid paying it, owners will be incentivised to either upgrade to an eco-friendly electric vehicle or simply get rid of their car completely. Therefore, the implementation of these policies together could help cities reduce vehicle ownership and thus pollution. In conclusion, although there are multiple sources of air pollution in large cities, a significant improvement can be achieved by tackling the largest of them: petrol and diesel cars. In order to decrease their numbers, the government should increase the cost of owning a car and develop reliable public transport systems, so that residents can use these instead.