Mobile Phones allows us to attend personal calls anytime. Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

In recent years mobile phones and other similar devices have allowed anyone to easily contact another person regardless of location or time. I believe that this ability has vastly improved society and life for the individual public in a variety of ways. This essay shall explore some of those reasons. Firstly, one of the main benefits to society of this advance in technology is the fact that even people in developing countries or isolated places can gain expert advice or request help whenever they need it. For example, in the massive earthquake that shook Nepal in 2015 community who lived in isolated villages in the Khumbu region were able to contact authorities and tell them exactly where the most vulnerable population who needed help were located. Furthermore, families were able to reunite themselves with each other following the earthquake which helped to reduce the suffering of some people. Allied with this, it can be said that individuals in long-distance relationships benefit tremendously from this instant form of communication. No longer does society have to suffer when they are apart from their loved ones. As well as being able to speak to other nations via the phone, individuals can also talk to each other face to face using one of the many ‘apps’ designed for this very purpose. If this were not advantageous enough, members of the public can also sit and order food from wherever they happen to be and have the food of their choice delivered directly to them. For example, Foodpanda now does over 220,000 food orders direct to homes and offices in Thailand alone in just one month. In conclusion, the mobile phone has bought with it an overwhelming number of positives such as the ability to gain expert advice quickly and easily as well as stay in touch with family and friends. I, therefore, remain of the opinion that the mobile phone offers a far greater number of positives that far outweigh any potential negatives.