In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? * truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.'

It is true that in many parts of the world, truancy has become a worrying problem among parents and educators. There are many reasons why pupils do not want to attend their classes and often run away from school. This problem can lead to a multitude of negative consequences for both the child and the community. Perhaps the first and most important reason for truancy is boredom. The student's curriculum is full of frustrating and overwhelming courses. Some courses do not suit everyone, and many students tend to leave the class and spend their time on something more intriguing. Secondly, according to the research, many teenagers want to do something to impress their peers and most of the time, their classmates follow them. Lastly, it is worth mentioning that some teachers behave badly in the classroom, so many pupils tend to escape classes. For instance, I remember I was a quiet child during high school, but because of the behaviour of my Arabic teacher, I always ran away from class. Sometimes, truancy can lead to a catastrophe. It could affect the child's career in the future. Acceptance in a good college is tied to school grades, and getting a good job is tied to the student's college. Sometimes, truancy can lead to a more serious problem such as crime. Many students who run away from school frequently, tend to hang out with criminals outside. Also, this child could show anti-social and aggressive behaviours like fighting in the street, littering, driving while they are drunk, and thousands of other bad behaviour that could directly affect the community. In conclusion, truancy can cause many problems and affect both the child and the community. I believe that governments, educators, and parents should take steps to tackle this issue.