in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travel to large shopping center or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The local market is being replaced by the shopping complex that provides a one-stop shop for any need. More and more people are willing to travel to these malls despite visiting street vendors. Analysing that it is a completely positive development because a variety of businesses can be located under one roof and these buildings also facilitate many amenities. Firstly, one of the main reasons for this trend is that customers may it more convenient to shop from the mall as everything is available under a roof, whereas, they usually have to travel excessively when finding a good product in the local market. Eaton Centre in Downtown Toronto is considered a popular place to visit as it is a perfect place to buy home goods, groceries, clothes, accessories etc. Certainly, the population is more attracted towards such locations as it is a great deal to purchase anything to everything needed. Secondly, another point worth mentioning is the amenities that are available in these complexes like washrooms, food courts, massaging chairs, temperature controls and many more in comparison to the street markets. For example, Dubai Mall is known to be the biggest shopping centre in the world and is spread over a wide area where shoppers even get tired while walking, as a result, the management has installed foot massagers to relax from exhaustion. Undoubtedly, these centres have turned the entire purchasing experience into luxury. By giving cut-edge competition to the local vendors which now have to shut down. In conclusion, throughout time, street businesses have mostly closed mainly because of the popularity of big complexes. Correspondingly, it is more convenient for consumers to buy from malls and it has helped to deal with problems related to the area for the construction of houses. Moreover, by catering to various utilities, it has attracted people towards its luxury. That being the case, it is a completely positive development.