Some people think parents should supervise their children's activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom

One of the social concerns today relates to the way parents look after their children. While it is widely believed that sheltering children’s action is necessary for parents, others believe children should be independent of their nurturers. I’m going to discuss both these opposing points of view. In my opinion, parents should only handle every movements of their children until they reach a certain age. On the one hand, it is argued that taking care of children’s behaviour is important. The main reason is that children are unaware of the world outside and they are not mature enough to differentiate between good and bad. It is possible to say that parental supervision is compulsory to detect any unmoral issues as well as physical and mental problems in order to intervene in time. For instance, observing children’s unusual activities could help parents know whether their kids are in a healthy condition or not and therefore give them solutions. Another possible reason is that carefully supervision is significant for the nurturers to guide their children’s study path. One good illustration is that due to lack of parental monitor, children could spend a lot of time playing games, surfing the internet instead of focusing on studies. On the other hand, it is strongly suggested that children should feel free to live their lives. People often have this opinion because when children have a chance to do things independently, they will feel a sense of accomplishment and pride. This turns out to be helpful for children to boost independence and self-confidence skills. A second point is that allowing children to make their own decisions could develop their responsibility skill. This is because children are more likely to take their ownership of choices and be accountable for consequences when making decision without their parent’s management. For example, if children make a poor choice of something, they will have to take responsibility for that action and somehow learn from the mistake. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that parental supervision is compulsory when nurturing children, while other people assume that giving children freedom can be beneficial in several ways. Personally, I tend to believe that parents should stay side by side to their children and guide them until they reach the age of maturity.