Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about improtant social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, programs that are being televised on TV are becoming the centre of attention. Some people say that these networks should target educating the watchers about current and vital social issues while others are saying the opposite. In my opinion, TV channels should focus more on informing people about the social issues we are all facing. One of the main reasons why TV programmes should play current social issues is that they could reach a wider range of targets. There are lots of people around the world that are watching TV. If there is any way that we want to educate them, it is by using shows on TV. People get very well interested and seem to learn quickly when they watch the television. For example, in the Philippines, people would rather watch the news rather than read newspapers as it is more convenient and they could see the subjects of the topics and could also visualize the issues. On the other hand, people are saying that it will be too bland to watch social issues every day. Their argument is that the reason why they are watching television is for them to relax from work or from school. Thus, they want to watch shows that are entertaining like cartoons, comedy shows and others. For instance, a busy man from work would rather watch a basketball match or boxing rather than watch problems that have nothing to do with him. In this way, he will be able to destress himself from his stressful job and just enjoy his free time. To sum it up, television is a great way to inform people not just about social concerns but also any advertisements about certain services or products for the reason that it could cater for a broader market. However, it will become too boring if we will watch the news every day.