Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or a negative development?

These days the young generation has less knowledge about traditions and culture compared to the previous years. The main causes of this phenomenon are globalisation and the increased pace of living due to the development of modern technologies. This essay will state that mostly this is a drawback because it leads to blurring cultural diversity and ignoring valuable historical lessons. The global economy and mass media, as the main cores of the globalisation process, are forcing trends among children. International producers focus only to gain profit ignoring any local habits. In addition to a more rapid pace of living, which pushes to optimize old traditions, this leads to blurring edges between different cultures. In other words, the modern way of living leaves no chances for less progressive societies. For example, the northern tribes from deep Siberia almost vanished because their current generation is not able to compete with over-gathering by manufacturers from big cities. This is an obvious negative trend because it leads to the total extinction of legacy and diversity, as a result, people may forget important life lessons. The fact that something from the past might be lost means that humanity may repeat old mistakes and lose valuable information. For instance, ancient Greek architecture had a technology to produce concrete which is way more solid than the one that was used in the middle ages but the recipe was lost when Greece merged their culture with Western Europe. In conclusion, forgetting the past culture and traditions among the young generation is a negative trend which leads to cultural loss. The globalisation and current fast lifestyle are the main reasons for this problem.