Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighborhood, this should be the residents' responsibility, while others think that it should be the governments' duty. what is your opinion?

A large number of people believe that the maintenance of their community should be the responsibility of the government rather than that of the resident. I believe it is a shared responsibility between the neighbourhood and the authority. This essay will discuss the merit and demerit of both sides. Firstly, if the resident takes up the duty it will be an additional cost for the people and time will have to be created for the task. For instance, in Lagos State where I reside, everyone leaves for work as early as 6 am, and we only return back home to our families at 6 pm. There will be little or no time to allocate the cleaning up of the surrounding area. This could also mean that we need a paid person to assist in tidying up the environment. Secondly, When the government uses the taxpayer's money to maintain the area, humans will like to take advantage and spill refuge all over the place without taking in recognizing the effect. Also, the government has more updated equipment to carry out these tasks at a faster pace to be able to cover a larger space. An example, a truck with a sweeper can clean up a street in 10 minutes and thus, it saves more time. Finally, I strongly believe that sharing responsibility with both parties will be a better way to keep our environment clean. The major reason is that everyone will ensure their surrounding area will be kept tidy for the paid workers to easily clean up.